Governance of IIIT-Delhi

IIIT-Delhi was created by the Delhi Govt. in 2008 as per the IIIT-Delhi Act.

  • General Council is the highest body overseeing the institute, and advises the Vice-Chancellor.
  • The IIIT-Delhi Act ensures administrative and academic autonomy in the following way:

Administrative autonomy

  • Board of Governors consists of 4 experts, 2 Govt. nominees, 2 professors, the Director, and the Chairman
  • Board decides the salaries, the number of positions, selects the 4 experts

Academic autonomy

  • Senate & Board can start degrees/programs
  • Senate is empowered to take all academic decisions

The members of the governing bodies are listed below.

Board of Governors

Mr. Kiran Karnik, Chairman
Former President, NASSCOM

Mr. Ajai Chowdhary
Founder - HCL

Mr. Arun Seth
Chairman - Alcatel-Lucent India Ltd.

Prof. Narendra Ahuja
Director, ITRA

Prof. Pankaj Jalote
Director, IIIT Delhi

Mr. Pramath Raj Sinha
Founding Dean of Indian School of Business (ISB)
Mr. R. K. Verma
Principal Secretary, TTE
Mr. M. M. Kutty
Principal Secretary - Finance, GNCT
Prof. Surendra Prasad
Former Director, IIT Delhi
Mr. S Mahalingam
Chief Financial Officer & Executive Director, TCS

Previous Board Members

Sh. R Chandrashekhar Sh. V. V. Bhatt, Ex Principal Secretary (Finance) Sh. J. P. Singh, Ex Principal Secretary (Finance)
Sh. Anand Prakash, Ex Principal Secretary (DTTE) Sh. D. M. Spolia, Ex Principal Secretary (Finance) Sh. Shakti Sinha, Ex Principal Secretary (Finance)
Dr. Narendra Kumar, Ex Principal Secretary (DTTE) Sh. Rajendra Kumar, Secretary (DTTE) Sh. Mohandas Pai, Chairman, Manipal Global Education Service
Prof. Ranjit Roy Chaudhury Prof. Rajeev Sangal, Director, IIT-BHU Prof. Bijendra N Jain, VC, BITS Pilani, Rajasthan
Sh. Phiroz Vandrevala, Executive Director, TCS Dr. P. Anandan, MD, Microsoft Research of India Dr. Jai Menon, Director, Bharti Airtel

General Council

Mr. Najeeb Jung, Chancellor

Lt. Governor, Delhi

Mr. Kiran Karnik
Chairman, Board of Governors, IIIT Delhi

Prof. Pankaj Jalote
Director, IIIT Delhi
Prof. K. Vijay Raghavan
Secretary, Dept of Science and Technology (DST)
Mr. R. K Verma
Principal Secretary, TTE
Dr. Rajiv Sharma
Executive Director, Indo U.S. Science and Technology Forum
Dr. Avinash Chander
Head Defence Research and Development Organization
Dr. Ajay Kumar
Director General, National Informatics Centre
Mr. R Chandrashekhar
President, NASSCOM
Mr. R. S. Sharma
Secretary, DeitY




Previous General Council Members

Dr. A. Mohan, Ex Director General, National Informatics Centre Dr. T. Ramasami, Ex Secretary, Dept of Science and Technology (DST) Dr. J Satyanarayana, Ex Secretary, DeitY